Interview Carole Brémaud: Artist Profile

Words: Emily Ames

Carole Brémaud says there are two types of Artist, those who think a lot about their work and those who simply ‘do’. “I’m in the second group. I’m not the type of person who has a thousand things to say about my paintings. When I paint I’m thinking, ‘mmm I should do that. I should go there,’ and I just do. I’m not sure if my art fits in or breaks away and I don’t ask myself those sorts of questions. I do what I want and some people like it, some people hate it and that’s pretty much it.”

 Well here at Just Another Magazine, we love.

Born in Western France in Cholet in 1987, she started out cutting into old 70’s newspapers as a child making shapes and drawings and today works as an artist and freelance graphic designer on illustrations for children’s books. However, it’s her intriguing series “suits not faces” that really caught our eye.

Brémaud’s ‘simply do’ attitude and mysterious whereabouts, “I live wherever I want to live and move often,” compared with her down to earth opinion of the art world, gives the impression that she emulates the contradiction of a free spirit with her feet placed firmly on the ground. “In the art world you often feel disappointed by people. It was infuriating when I was accepted at the art school. They acted like they were Picasso, knowing everything there was to know about art. I was always afraid to become like them. I know I’m not Picasso!” Mirrored in her series “suits not faces” the portraits are both fleeting and intriguing with their blurred faces yet juxtaposed by the strong forms of the male figure.

 

With the clear influence of Francis Bacon in her series “suits not faces” she explains her admiration for the way he inserts all his emotions and feelings into the painting without caring if the project is aesthetically pleasing at the end. Using a “few old brushes and often only 6 colours,” her paintings are based on 50’s male portraits of mostly Hollywood actors like James Stewart and Gary Grant. She’s not a misogynist or a feminist but clearly prefers painting men and the sharp suits represent her admiration for powerful men like Romanian Emperors and great artists like Mozart. “A man in a suit has a lot more credibility than one in a jogging sweatshirt.”

 

Brémaud may not be Picasso, but anyone that can “simply do” and be that damn good deserves some attention in our opinion. For her portfolio checkhttp://cbremaud.carbonmade.com/

Leave a Reply

